I’m not writing a blog application or social network!

Why does every tutorial or rails example post assume only blogs are written? Does anyone actually use Rails for real stuff?

I’m writing a telephone extension allocation system to be used by FIM to disj out phone numbers to Lync; posts and comments have no relevance.

I say this because I need to work out how to do column sorting on association tables using left joins and I really can’t get my head around the finer points of ActiveRecord’s includes and joins to make any progress.

I nearly had it cracked with a (mostly) manual query but it broke will_paginate, having an array rather than AR relations. So near, yet so far.

I’m determined to crack this one, so I might go quiet for a little while.

Leave a Reply

