Docker or Unikernel?

After some recent reading, I’m torn between getting back into building Docker images – I lost all my previous builds when the SD card on my r-pi got corrupted and had to be built from scratch – or latest flavour of the month, unikernels.

Well, I was having fun with Docker and my new job will start looking at the tech at some point and it’d be a shame not to press ahead with it.

So, I’ll use https://hub.docker.com/r/armv7/armhf-ubuntu/ as the new base and look at deploying a Rails application as per my original intention.

https://github.com/umiddelb/armhf/wiki/Installing,-running,-using-docker-on-armhf-(ARMv7)-devices is the best guide for getting this working.

Leave a Reply

