Gramofile reborn

Was intending to spend the day hving fun with Docker on my Arch desktop – the r-pi version still on-hold until I can get a 16GB image file on to the SD card; 24 hours is too long when trying to copy the file over the wireless network – but I got distracted trying to sort out some old clutter from early this century (seriously).

I found a copy of a program I used many moons ago to process some of the digital recordings I had done of some of my old vinyl (prior to processing using Audacity).

Gramofile is  a curses-based program that attempts to split up an recording into different tracks by looking for blocks of silence; it does a reasonable job and its estimates can easily be tweaked.

A quick recompile and it was starting up but was having problems recognising the WAV files I have. I knew it was Gramofile’s problem becasue I was able to use an old program I started years ago to convert WAV files to ZX Spectrum tzx format (yes, I still have plenty of speccy tapes) and it was able to identify the relevant header records.

So, I have spent all day hacking some test programs to get a reasonable header processor going for WAV files. The main problem I suspect is that the code is 32-bit and some of the buffer manipulation looked a wee bit odd. But because the header records sizes are fixed I decided to an explicit copy byte-for-byte from the buffer to the header struct,

...
 memcpy ( &wavhd.main_chunk, hd_buf, 4 );
 memcpy ( &wavhd.length, hd_buf+4, 4 );
 memcpy ( &wavhd.chunk_type, hd_buf+8, 4 );
 ...

Another quick recompile and we’re in business big-time! A run through the first side of Psychocandy picked up 5 out of 7 tracks, just missing a couple of short silence sections between a couple of tracks; th emissing starts and ends can easily added to the .tracks file; just remember to adjust the ‘Number_of_tracks’ setting!

Now, I just wish there ws a quick way to generate the CD text data when ripping the tracks to a CD as this is a right pain with the burning tools, but all in all a good day’s work and I have a fair few album recordings to catch up on.

References

http://soundfile.sapp.org/doc/WaveFormat/ was really useful in helping me make sure that the correct fields and their sizes were being used in the WAV header.

2 thoughts on “Gramofile reborn

  1. julianrawcliffe Post author

    Posting and editing these articles seems to have become much harder over the past few dys. I’ve just seen a message from WordPress inviting a switch to the improved WordPress experience and it looks like what I have been suffering recently. I don’t like it; it’s not an improvement and I want to switch back.

    Reply
  2. julianrawcliffe Post author

    I’m guessing some folks might get a wee bit upset of the prospect of wrapping a web service on top of the processing that Gramofile can do: upload a 200MB wav file and split it up into a bunch of tracks for download. It can’t easily be done with Gramofile anyway because it’s not command line driven and I really need to get bck on the Docker trail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

