Sourdough, another go

After deciding that my first batch of sourdough starter had failed (it probably hadn’t and could have been saved from disaster), I did a bit of reading up on how to maintain a starter, I decided to have another go.
So rather than whacking it straight in the fridge after topping it up, I left it in the jar, covered with a tea towel, for a few hours until it was nice and bubbly before putting the lid on.
I will also get the starter out of the fridge a couple of days before I need it, cover with a towel and make sure it is frothing before I make the loaf; a good stir every few days should also help.
And I am still keeping as blob of ‘old dough’ in the freezer ready for use when I need it.

Leave a Reply

