Flask over https and local root CA

I recently had a week’s PTO and decided to spend the time getting to grips with setting up a private root CA so that I could try getting a python flask application to use client certificates (signed by the server) for authorization to request upload resources.

It was quite a struggle, more because of the root CA than anything else but since the aim was to gain an understanding of how this kind of set up worked, how to structure the requests and do the work in python (with a ruby version to follow no doubt) I am happy with the progress so far.

I will post a couple of pages describing the work I did with references and how I got past some of the major sticking points.

Leave a Reply

